Student Development Civic Education

Civic Education

Aims

The Committee aims at carrying out civic education in a broad sense through organizing various activities. We nurture our students' good moral character, cultivate their care and concern in participating in social affairs, establish their independent critical thinking ability, enhance their sense of mission, and raise their civic awareness. By recognizing their own civic responsibilities and the identity and culture of their own nation, the sense of students’ own national identity can be strengthened, thereby preparing them to adapt to the changes and challenges of the future society. With a good concept on civic education, our students can become adults who are responsible for themselves, their families, the society as well as the country.

 

Work Goals

  1. To implement character cultivation, nurture our students' good character, and strengthen their civic awareness.

  2. To help our students understand their own responsibilities and rights, and cultivate a sense of responsibility.

  3. To train our students so that they will understand, care about, and participate in public affairs, such as sharing of current affairs, civic awareness activities or participation in external activities in related areas.

  4. To cultivate our students' ability to think independently, so that they will have their own standpoints and opinions on social affairs in everyday life, be willing to express their opinions, and dare to take on a sense of mission.

  5. To help our students understand their own identity, national traditions, and culture through channels such as sharing in morning assemblies, exchange tours to the Mainland, field trips, etc.

  6. To encourage our students to participate more in social welfare and community activities, so that they can establish positive attitudes, values, and firm beliefs while learning from real-life experiences, e.g., volunteer services.

  7. To actively expand the space for cooperation with other units in implementing the plans and activities.

 

Work : 

Civic Education Activities

By organizing internal and external activities, such as  "Visit to the CUHK Jockey Club Museum of Climate Change and Weiyuan Lake Ecological Tour",  " Visit to the Legislative Council ",  " Squatter Living Experience Program ", "Blood Donation Day", "Casual Clothes Day", etc., our students are encouraged to pay attention to current events, care about the society, and broaden their horizons.

 

Activities in Moral Education Week

Through the activities held in Moral Education Week, such as "Shooting Arrows to Combat Against Gambling", "Moral Education Game Booths", "Good People and Good Things’ Card Display Board", "Find the Truth Game", etc., we aim at nurturing good morals, strengthening civic awareness, and establishing positive values and attitudes of our students.

 

Morning Assembly / Weekly Assembly

We organize morning and weekly assemblies with diverse themes to enhance students' understanding of the society and the country. Meanwhile, we also aim at strengthening their life education and raising their civic and national awareness. The themes of the assemblies include "My Blood Donation Story - Ten Years of Blood Donation", "Refugees", "Be a Responsible Pet Owner", "Basic Law and Current Affairs Quiz", "Dialogue with President of the Legislative Council: Mr. Tsang Yok-sing", "A Lecture by Life Warrior", "National Day Morning Assembly - Understand China, the Spaceman Who Travelled Beyond the Earth", "Inheritance of Love - Organ Donation", "Flying High Again", "Agricultural Status", "AIDS and Children", "An Overview of Children in China", etc.

 

Voluntary Services

In order to encourage students to participate in social service while developing a spirit of serving others and the society, the Committee has implemented a volunteer service project for Form 4 students.

"The Old Yuen Long Wai Village with a New Look Guided Tour Project" - our students participated in the guided tour project of "The Old Yuen Long Wai Village with a New Look", an activity sponsored by the Yuen Long District Council. Students served as tour guides in leading members of the tour groups to visit Ping Shan and leveraged the spirit of serving the community. Our students provided detailed information on the famous historical sites in Ping Shan to the tour group members, including Tang Ancestral Hall, Kun Ting Study Hall, etc., as they learned about the history and appearance of the villages in the old days.

"Adventure-Ship School Partnering Project" - by arranging our students to participate in voyage training with persons with disabilities, the "Adventure-Ship School Partnering Project” aims to encourage the integration and communication between people with and without disabilities. While participating in the voyage training of the "Adventure-Ship", students partnered with one or two participants with special needs and took care of each other on the principle of equal partnership.

"Food Sharing Programme" - in Hong Kong, more than 3,600 tonnes of food wastes are transported to landfills for disposal every day. As most of the food waste is edible ingredients, the condition of food wastage is quite a concern in nowadays society. In order to encourage our students to cherish food and reduce the amount of food wastage, we cooperated with Greeners Action and participated in the "Food Sharing Project" held in Cheung Sha Wan. Students were assigned as pioneers of environmental protection in collecting leftover food, including vegetables and bread, that could not be sold by shops. The food items collected were then donated to the needy ones in society.

"Hong Kong Wetland Park Partnership Programme" – the programme included volunteer training, plant care experience, volunteer and guided tour services, hands-on experience in education workshop, other volunteer activities experience, on-campus booth games and sharing in the graduation ceremony.

 

"Dialogue in The Dark Jockey Club Dialogue Experience Place" - multiple simulated scenes, such as wet markets, roads, and restaurants, were set up in the venue to allow students to experience the world of people who suffer from visual impairments, thereby enhancing their concern and empathy for the obstacles encountered by the visually impaired. The students who participated in the event benefited a lot from the activity that their awareness and concern for people who suffer from visual impairments have been raised.

 

Student Exchange Activities

The Committee has arranged different exchange study tours to allow students to experience, understand the geography, history, culture and economy of our motherland. Through the activities, our students have broadened their horizons, enriched their life experience, and cultivated a sense of belonging to the country. 

The Mainland Exchange Tour for Form 3 Students included: 

“Western Architecture and Its History and Culture in Guangzhou”,

“The Maritime Silk Road in Yangjiang and Conservation of Cultural Relics in Kaiping”, 

“Economic Development in Guangzhou and the Pearl River Delta”, 

“Kaiping Diaolou”,

“A Comprehensive View of Zhaoqing's Natural Landscape”, 

“A Comprehensive View of Chinese-style Buildings in Panyu, Guangzhou”, etc.

Other activities included:

“Giving and Caring - 4-Day Tour to Shaoguan” - Voluntary Teaching Tour in Rural China,

“The Rural Construction and Development of Foshan and Xinhui.”,

“Study Tour on The New Look of Guangzhou and the Centenary of China's 1911 Revolution”, 

“Historical Culture and Landscape Exploration Tour in Nanning, Guangxi”, etc.

學生培育 德育、公民及國民教育

德育、公民及國民教育

宗旨

本委員會旨在透過舉辦各項活動推行廣義之公民教育:培養學生良好的品德;培養學生關心和參與社會事務、建立獨立批判性思考能力,提升使命感;加強學生之公民意識;認識自己的公民責任及本身民族的身份與文化,藉此加強學生之國民身份的認同,以裝備學生適應未來社會的改變和挑戰,成為對自己、家庭、社會及國家民族有承擔的人。

 

工作目標

1. 推行品格培育,培養學生良好的品德,加強學生公民意識。

2. 讓學生認識本身的責任與權利,培養責任感。

3. 培養學生認識、關心及參與公共事務,例如時事分享、公民意識活動或參與外界之相關活動。

4. 培養學生有獨立思考能力,在生活事務上有自己的立場和見解,並敢於表達意見、敢於承擔的使命感。

5. 讓學生認識本身的身份、民族的傳統及文化,如早會分享、往內地交流、考察等。

6. 培養學生多參與社會公益活動及社區活動,讓他們從實際生活的體驗中,建立正確的態度與價值觀和堅定的信念,如義工服務。

7. 積極拓展與其他單位合作推行計劃及活動之空間。

 

工作:

公民教育活動

透過舉辦校內及校外活動,鼓勵學生留意時事、關心社會,拓展眼界,活動如「 參觀中大賽馬會氣候變化博物館及未圓湖生態行」、「 參觀立法會」、「 寮屋生活體驗計畫」、「捐血日」、「 便服日」等。

 

 

德育週活動

透過德育週活動,培養學生有良好的品德,加強學生公民意識,建立正面的價值觀和態度,活動如「對箭射擊反賭博活動」、「德育攤位遊戲」、「好人好事」心聲卡及心聲展板、「尋找真相」活動等。

 

早會/週會

透過舉辦多元化主題的早會及週會,增進學生對社會、對國家的認識,並加強同學的生命教育及公民、國民意識,主題有「 我的捐血故事-捐血十年」、「 難民」、「做個盡責的寵物主人 」、「 基本法及時事問答比賽」、「 與立法會主席對話:曾鈺成先生」、「 生命勇士講座」、國慶早會-「 認識中國,衝出地球之太空人」、「 傳承愛-器官捐贈」、「再飛的天空」、「農情‧農程」、「愛滋病與兒童」、「中國兒童概況」等。

 

 

義工服務

為鼓勵學生參與社會服務、建立服侍他人、服務社會的精神,本委員會於中四級推行義工服務計劃。

 

「 元朗圍村古情‧新貌導賞計劃」-同學參加了由元朗區議會贊助的「元朗圍村古情‧新貌」導賞活動, 擔任導賞員帶領導賞團團友到屏山參觀,發揮服務社群的精神。同學向團友詳細地介紹了屏山的著名古蹟,包括鄧氏宗祠和覲廷書室等,從中認識圍村的歷史和面貌。

活動名稱:「 乘風航學校伙伴計劃」-乘風航學校伙伴計劃是透過編排同學與殘疾人士一起參加航程訓練,藉以鼓勵健全人士與殘疾人士融合交流。同學會與一至兩名有特殊需要的參加者結爲伙伴,以平等結伴的原則,互相照顧,參加「乘風航」的航程訓練。

 

「 食物分享計劃」-香港每天有逾3600公噸厨餘運往堆填區棄置,大部分更是仍可食用的食材,相當浪費。爲了支持珍惜食物和減少浪費,本校與綠領行動合作,參與長沙灣「食物分享計劃」,讓學生擔任環保先鋒隊,收集商販未能售出的剩餘食物,包括蔬菜和麵包,再轉贈給社會有需要的人士。

 

「 香港濕地公園伙伴計劃」-計劃包括義工訓練、植物護理體驗、義工及導覽服務、教育工作坊實習、其他義工活動體驗、我在義工之家的日子校內舉辦攤位遊戲及畢業禮分享。

 

「 黑暗中對話賽馬會對話體驗館」-於場內設置街市、馬路、餐廳等多個模擬場景,讓同學體驗失明人士的世界,從而提升同學對失明人士生活障礙的關心和同理心。對參加的同學而言,實在得益不少,亦有助同學日後對失明人士問題的關注。

 

交流活動

本委員會透過安排不同的交流團,讓學生親身經歷,和認識和體驗我國的地理、歷史、文化與經濟等,擴闊視野,豐富自己的人生經驗,並培養學生對國家的歸屬感。活動有:

中三級內地交流計劃包括: 

「廣州的西式建築及其歷史文化」

「陽江的海上絲綢之路及開平的文物保育」

「廣州及珠三角的經濟發展」

「開平碉樓」

「肇慶自然地貌面面觀」

「廣州番禺中式建築面面觀」等

 

其他交流團包括:

農村義教團 - 「送贈關愛---韶關四天行 」

「佛山和新會的城鄉建設及發展」

「廣州新貌與辛亥革命百周年考察團」

「廣西南寧-歷史文化及地貌探索之旅」等